DERRY TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Minutes, January 2, 2024 Reorganization/Regular Meeting 5:00 p.m

The reorganization meeting of the Derry Township Board of Supervisors was called to order in the Municipal Building at 5321 Route 982, Derry, PA at 5:00 p.m. and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Steve Siko to adjourn the previous meeting.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Members present were: James Prohaska, Donald Kepple and Steve Siko-Supervisors; Terry Giannini, Code Enforcement Officer; Donna Wano, Secretary/Treasurer

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to elect James Prohaska Chairman for the year 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to elect Donald Kepple Vice Chairman for the year 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to appoint Donna Wano as Secretary for the year 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to appoint Donna Wano for Treasurer for the year 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to set the Treasurer's Bond at \$1,000,000 for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to designate First Commonwealth and PLGIT as depositories for Derry Township funds for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to set the mileage rate at \$.67 per mile for calendar year 2024 per the IRS rate.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to appoint Donald Kepple, James Prohaska, and Steve Siko as Roadmasters for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to maintain three Road Districts as follows: District 1 - Donald Kepple; District 2 - Steve Siko, and District 3 - James Prohaska.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to appoint the firm of Dodaro, Matta, and Cambest as Solicitor for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to appoint Gibson-Thomas Engineering Co., Inc. as Engineer at will for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to appoint Kelly, Sparber, White & Associates LLC as Accounting and Payroll Services for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to appoint Emil Bove of Bove Engineering as Certified Sewage Enforcement Officer for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to appoint Varine-Slavin for the Insurance Contract for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to appoint Terry Giannini as Emergency Management Director for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to appoint Donna Wano as Right-to-Know Officer for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to appoint Brian Edmiston to the Vacancy Board for 2024.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by to Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to appoint R. Daniel Duralia to the Derry Township Municipal Authority Board for a five-year term.

Voting: Donald Kepple- yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to hold meetings on the first Tuesday of each month for 2024 with the exception of Wednesday, November 6 due to Election Day on Tuesday, November 5. These meetings will be held at 5 p.m. in the Derry Township Municipal Building, 5321 Route 982, Derry, PA 15627.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to approve the Board of Supervisors attendance at the Annual State Convention of the Pennsylvania Association of Township Supervisors to be held April 14-17, 2024 with the voting delegate to be the Chairman or Vice Chairman. Supervisors will be paid their normal wages and expenses that include room, meals, and travel.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to continue all policies and procedures, millage, fire hydrant and street light taxes at 2023 levels:

Real Estate Tax - 3 mills

Public Fire Tax - 1 mill (adopted Ordinance 11/1/2022)

Earned Income Tax - 1% = 50% to Township

50% to School District

Amusement Tax - 5% - Price of Admission

Municipal Lien Letters - \$25

Street Light Tax - Flat Rate: \$20 occupied parcels

\$10 vacant parcels

Fire Hydrant - Flat Rate: \$6

Driveway Permits - \$25

Road Bonding - \$12,500 per mile
Solicitation Permits - \$50 per month

Encroachment Permits - Per PennDOT Fee Schedule

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to adjourn the reorganization meeting and start the regular meeting.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Announcements:

Christmas Tree Recycling – residents to drop off trees by the fence where posted. Residents instructed to remove vehicles and basketball hoops from roads during the winter to allow snow plows to get through. Also, requested residents not to throw snow on Township Road Right of Ways.

The supervisors thanked Senator Joe Pittman, Representative Jill Cooper and Representative Leslie Rossi for their help in obtaining grant monies for township including \$424,563 grant to extend a water main on Guthrie Road.

The meeting was opened to the public for comments:

No public comments.

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to approve Minutes of December 5, 2023.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to approve the payroll of December 7 and 21, 2023 for payment.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the bills of December 6 and 20, 2023 for payment.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Steve Siko-abstained

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to approve Resolution No. 652-2024 authorizing the disposition of public records in accordance with the Municipal Records Manual.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by Steve Siko to approve LSA Agreement between Township of Derry and Derry Township Volunteer Fire Company #1 of Bradenville for the reimbursement of grant amount of \$35,000 for purchase of rescue boats.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by Steve Siko and seconded by Donald Kepple to recess until Tuesday, February 6, 2024 at 5 p.m.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, Steve Siko-yes, and James Prohaska-yes