DERRY TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Minutes, April 4, 2023 Regular Meeting

5:0<u>0 p.m.</u>

The regular meeting of the Derry Township Board of Supervisors was called to order in the Municipal Building at 5321 Route 982, Derry, PA at 5:00 p.m. and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Donald Kepple to adjourn the previous meeting.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Members present were: David Slifka, James Prohaska, and Donald Kepple -Supervisors; Terry Giannini, Code Enforcement Officer; Samuel Dalfonso, Solicitor; Donna Wano, Secretary/Treasurer

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Donald Kepple to amend the agenda to add the SML Limited Partnership Subdivision on Route 22. Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Announcements:

Reminder on 2023 Spring Cleanup Days, April 21 & 22, 2023 from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. Derry Township Residents ONLY.

Township Supervisors are looking to update Ordinance for Open Cutting or Boring portions of Township Right of Ways.

The meeting was opened to the public for comments:

Al Magnone asked what projects are planned for Brenizer this year. Asked for update on piping near his home. Also had questions about farm animals at residential homes, control of pets and burning on off-hours. A discussion was held.

Terry Mekic asked for update on stormwater problem from sewage system near Front Street. A discussion was held.

Yvonne Earhart asked for update on Horsemans Road. A discussion was held.

Mark Piantine gave statistics for month of February – 102 calls with 920 manhours. Asked for residents to have 911 address markers displayed and hydrant markers need updated. Also asked about plans for 250-year township anniversary in 2 years. A discussion was held. Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by James Prohaska to approve Minutes of March 7, 2023.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Donald Kepple to approve the payroll of March 2, 16 and 30, 2023 for payment.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the bills of March 1, 15 and 29, 2023 for payment.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Donald Kepple to approve the Treasurer's Reports for March 2023.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by James Prohaska to accept the road material bids advertised by COG and award to Derry Construction Company, Inc. for asphalt, Heidelberg Aggregates BMC Inc. for limestone and Derry Stone and Lime Company, Inc. for Anti-Skid.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Donald Kepple to award the Seal Coating Contract to Quaker Sales Corporation in the amount of \$286,198.90 with Derry Township supplying all aggregate. There were 2 other bidders – Russell Standard in the amount of \$358,849.39 and Midland Asphalt Materials, Inc. in the amount of \$389,670.81.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by James Prohaska to ratify entering into Stormwater Access Agreement with the Ronald Stachoni Irrevocable Trust. Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Donald Kepple to approve Resolution No. 630-2023 to renunciate any Claim or Ability to Accept for Dedication Proposed Paper Streets Contained in the West Derry Plan of Lots.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by James Prohaska to approve Resolution No. 631-2023 authorizing the Appointment of Karen Conway as Deputy Tax Collector in the Township of Derry.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Donald Kepple to approve entering into the Participation Agreements for the Opioid Settlements. Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the Nuttall Subdivision on Chestnut Ridge Road which has been approved by the Westmoreland County Department of Planning.

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Donald Kepple to approve the Weimer Land Development on Torrance Road which has been approved by the Westmoreland County Department of Planning.

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by Donald Kepple and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the SML Limited Partnership Subdivision on Route 22 which has been approved by the Westmoreland County Department of Planning.

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Donald Kepple to recess until Tuesday, May 2, 2023 at 5 p.m.

Voting: Donald Kepple-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and David Slifka-yes