DERRY TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Minutes, January 7, 2019 Reorganization/Regular Meeting 7:00 p.m.

The reorganization meeting of the Derry Township Board of Supervisors was called to order in the Municipal Building at 5321 Route 982, Derry, PA at 7:00 p.m. and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to adjourn the previous meeting.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Members present were: Vincent DeCario, David Slifka, and James Prohaska-Supervisors; Terry Giannini, Code Enforcement Officer; Samuel Dalfonso, Solicitor

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to elect Vincent DeCario, Chairman for the year 2019.

Voting: James Prohaska-yes, David Slifka-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Vincent DeCario to elect David Slifka Vice Chairman for the year 2019.

Voting: James Prohaska-yes, David Slifka-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Vincent DeCario to appoint David Slifka as Secretary for the year 2019.

Voting: James Prohaska-yes, David Slifka-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by Vincent DeCario to appoint David Slifka for Treasurer for the year 2019.

Voting: James Prohaska-yes; David Slifka –yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to set the Treasurer's Bond at \$1,000,000 for 2019.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to designate First Commonwealth and PLGIT as depositories for Derry Township funds for 2019. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to set the mileage rate at \$.58 per mile for calendar year 2019 per the IRS rate. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to appoint Vincent DeCario, James Prohaska, and David Slifka as Roadmasters for 2019. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to maintain three Road Districts as follows: District 1 - Vincent DeCario; District 2 - David Slifka, and District 3 - James Prohaska.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to appoint the firm of Dodaro, Matta, and Cambest as Solicitor for 2019. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to appoint Gibson-Thomas Engineering Co., Inc. as Engineer at will for 2019.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to appoint Emil Bove of Bove Engineering as Certified Sewage Enforcement Officer for 2019. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to delay awarding the Insurance Contract pending quotes for 2019.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to appoint Terry Giannini as Emergency Management Director for 2019.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to appoint John Rusnock to the Vacancy Board for 2019.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by to James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to appoint Dan Duralia to the Derry Township Municipal Authority Board for a five-year term. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario- yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to appoint Mark Piantine as Derry Township Fire Chief for 2019.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to hold meetings on the first Tuesday of each month for 2019 with the exception of Wednesday, November 6 due to Election Day on Tuesday, November 5. The meetings will be held at 7 p.m. in the Derry Township Municipal Building, 5321 Route 982, Derry, PA 15627.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the Board of Supervisors attendance at the 97th Annual State Convention of the Pennsylvania Association of Township Supervisors to be held April 14-17, 2019 with the Voting delegate to be the Chairman. Supervisors will be paid their normal wages and expenses that include room, meals, and travel. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to continue all policies and procedures, millage, fire hydrant and street light taxes at 2018 levels:

Real Estate Tax	-	3 mills
Earned Income Tax	-	1% = 50% to Township
		50% to School District
Amusement Tax	-	5% - Price of Admission
Municipal Lien Letters	-	\$25
Street Light Tax	-	Flat Rate: \$20 occupied parcels
		\$10 vacant parcels
Fire Hydrant	-	Flat Rate: \$6
Driveway Permits	-	\$25
Road Bonding	-	\$12,500 per mile
Solicitation Permits	-	\$50 per month
Encroachment Permits -		Per PennDOT Fee Schedule

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Announcements:

Christmas Tree Recycling – residents to drop off trees by the fence where posted. Residents instructed to remove vehicles and basketball hoops from roads during the winter to allow snow plows to get through. Also, requested residents not to throw snow on Township Road Right of Ways.

The meeting was opened to the public for comments:

Dan Bates asked for update on the hydrologic and hydraulic study (H and H study). A discussion was held.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Minutes of December 4, 2018.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the payroll of December 13 and 27, 2018 for payment. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the bills of December 12, 21 and 28, 2018 for payment. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the Treasurer's Report for December 2018.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Ordinance No. 168-2018 amending Ordinance No. 104, Chapter 24, Part 8, Section 806 to amend Ordinance No. 152-2014 providing for an extension from Real Estate Tax Exemption for Commercial, Industrial and Business Real Estate to December 31, 2021.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to recess until Tuesday, February 5, 2019 at 7 p.m.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes