DERRY TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Minutes, May 6, 2020 Regular Meeting

3:30 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Derry Township Board of Supervisors was called to order in the Municipal Building at 5321 Route 982, Derry, PA at 3:30 p.m. and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to adjourn the previous meeting.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Members present were: Vincent DeCario, David Slifka, and James Prohaska-Supervisors;

Terry Giannini, Code Enforcement Officer Samuel Dalfonso, Solicitor (on phone call)

Announcements:

Summer Playground Program will be cancelled this year due to the pandemic.

Burning Schedule – Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday from 10 am to 5 pm only.

Recycling Reminder – we only accept newspapers and magazines in green bins at the Township Municipal Building. Westmoreland Cleanways will be reopening Monday, May 11 at their new location at 355 Pleasant Unity-Mutual Road, Greensburg, PA 15601.

People's Natural Gas recently mailed a questionnaire to residents of Bradenville. If interested, please fill it out and return.

The meeting was opened to the public for comments:

There were no public comments.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Minutes of April 7, 2020.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the payroll of April 2, 16 and 30, 2020 for payment.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the bills of April 1, 8, 15 and 29, 2020 for payment.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the Treasurer's Report for April 2020.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to accept the road material bids advertised by COG and award to Derry Construction Co., Inc., Hanson Aggregates BMC Inc. and Derry Stone and Lime Company, Inc.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to reapprove the Richardson Subdivision off Traction Avenue which has been approved by the Westmoreland County Department of Planning:

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve Ordinance 172-2020 vacating a paper street located in the Edgar Hill Plan of Hillside.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Resolution 591-2020 to implement the provisions of Act 15 of 2020 relating to Property Tax Relief.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve revised Cooperation Agreement between the Township of Derry and the Derry Township Volunteer Fire Department of Bradenville due to business entity name change from Derry Township Volunteer Fire Company #1 of Bradenville.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the settlement of the tax appeal at Docket Number 5185 of 2019 and No. 5192 of 2019 relating to Parcel Nos.: 45-35-08-0-030 and 45-35-08-0-001 for a combined fair market value of \$700,000.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to recess until Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 7:00 p.m.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes