DERRY TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Minutes, June 4, 2019 Regular Meeting

7:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Derry Township Board of Supervisors was called to order in the Municipal Building at 5321 Route 982, Derry, PA at 7:00 p.m. and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to adjourn the previous meeting.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Members present were: David Slifka and James Prohaska-Supervisors; Code Enforcement Officer Terry Giannini; and Joseph Dalfonso, Solicitor

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to award seal coating contract to Russell Standard in the amount of \$254,084.80 with Derry Township supplying all aggregate. One other bid was received from Suit-Kote Corporation in the amount of \$255,727.08.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Announcements:

Recycling containers are for Township residents only. Plastics that are recyclable are Nos. 1-5 and No. 7.

The meeting was opened to the public for comments:

Kelly Hammers of 1413 Main Street asked about flooding on her property. A discussion was held.

Rick Rupert asked for an update on the Raymond Avenue Culvert. Bids went out for Pipe Repair Project and will be opened on June 11.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Minutes of May 7, 2019.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the Payrolls of May 2, 16 and 30, 2019 for payment.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the bills of May 1, 15 and 29, 2019 for payment.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the Treasurer's Reports for May 2019.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to grant a donation to the Derry Township Volunteer Fire Department (Bradenville) in the amount of \$48,000.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to Derry Borough VFD, Blairsville VFD, and New Alexandria VFD in the amount of \$2,000 each.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to grant donations to the Mechesneytown, Pershing, and Salem Cemeteries Associations for the abandoned cemeteries in the amount of \$800 each.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska, yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to grant a donation to the Caldwell Memorial Library in the amount of \$3,800.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to grant a donation to "Faith in Action" in the amount of \$1,000.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to grant a donation to the Derry Township Agricultural Fair Association in the amount of \$2,000.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to grant a donation to the Murrysville Medic One (Support 610) in the amount of \$600.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to grant a donation to the Barbara Thompson Early Learning Center in the amount of \$1,000.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the Trout Run Woods Partnership LP Subdivision off Millwood Road which has been approved by the Westmoreland County Department of Planning.

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the Rhodes Subdivision off Route 217 contingent upon the approval of the Westmoreland County Department of Planning.

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the Gerhard Subdivision No. 5 on Fairview Lane contingent upon the approval of the Westmoreland County Department of Planning.

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Resolution No. 581-2019 requesting a DCED grant of \$39,037.94 from the Commonwealth Financing Authority to be used for Bradenville Playground retroactive to May 31, 2019.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Resolution No. 582-2019 requesting a DCED grant of \$29,288 from the Commonwealth Financing Authority to be used for Cooperstown Playground retroactive to May 31, 2019.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes

Announcement made that Derry Township Playground Program will begin Monday, June 10, Mondays-Thursdays. Mornings from 9:30-11:30 at New Derry John's Field and Derry Community Park; Afternoons from 12:30-2:30 at New Alexandria and Brenizer.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to recess until Tuesday, July 2, 2019 at 7 p.m.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes