DERRY TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Minutes, August 4, 2020 Regular Meeting

3:30 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Derry Township Board of Supervisors was called to order in the Municipal Building at 5321 Route 982, Derry, PA at 3:30 p.m. and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to adjourn the previous meeting.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Members present were: Vincent DeCario, David Slifka, and James Prohaska-Supervisors; Terry Giannini, Code Enforcement Officer Samuel Dalfonso, Solicitor (on phone call)

Announcements:

Building Permits – Before building, please check with township to see if permit is required. All fees will be doubled for any project started before the issuance of permit if required.

MS4 Stormwater – Storm sewer inlets, curbs and gutters, drainage ditches and storm pipes discharge directly and untreated into Loyalhanna Creek, McGee Run, Miller Run and other natural waterways. For a list of ways to help keep these waterways clean, please visit our website or facebook page.

Norfolk Southern Road Closure Notices – Detour signs will be posted.

The meeting was opened to the public for comments:

There were no public comments.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Minutes of July 7, 2020.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the payrolls of July 9 and 23, 2020 for payment.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the bills of July 8, 22 and 29, 2020 for payment. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the Treasurer's Report for July 2020.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Resolution No. 592-2020 adopting and approving the Agricultural Security Area Proposal for Carol Dinco and Sandra Yantos at 211 Guthrie Road.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve Resolution No. 593-2020 to specify the Keystone Area Sanitary Sewers and Loyalhanna Trail Project as a project to be undertaken by the Derry Township Municipal Authority. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Pay Estimate #3 in the amount of \$29,136.57 and Pay Estimate #4 of \$10,606.80 (Retainage) to Northrock Construction for the completion of the Raymond Avenue Culvert Replacement Project. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the Panizzi Subdivision on Superior Road contingent upon the approval of the Westmoreland County Department of Planning:

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the Frye Subdivision off Theo Street contingent upon the approval of the Westmoreland County Department of Planning:

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to recess until Tuesday, September 1, 2020 at 7:00 p.m.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes